NAIC International Fellows Program

Last Updated 11/29/16

Building on the success of the China Intern-Pilot Program in 2004, NAIC developed a formal International Internship Program in 2005 to advance working relations with foreign markets, emphasizing the exchange of regulatory techniques and technology. The program was formally renamed the International Fellows program in 2010. The Fellows participate in a week-long orientation program in Kansas City, Mo., focusing on the broad principles of insurance regulation in the United States. Each Fellow then travels to a different state for four-five weeks, working in technical areas of their specialization under the supervision of a state insurance department staff member, who serves as a mentor and host.

The NAIC welcomed six fellows to the International Fellows Program on April 3. Countries represented this spring include India, Kenya, South Korea and Saudi Arabia. Host jurisdictions are Georgia, Louisiana, Maine and New York. The NAIC developed the program in 2004 to advance working relationships with foreign market regulators, emphasizing the exchange of regulatory techniques and technology.

The program will conclude in New York City, NY with training at the NAIC Capital Markets Bureau and Securities Valuation Office, as well as a roundtable with US insurance industry representatives and a ceremonial graduation dinner to highlight the fellows' accomplishments. The NAIC Fellows Program is conducted twice a year — spring and fall.

Nearly 260 participants from 32 countries have participated in the training program. In addition, since 2006, we have had eight secondees from Korea hosted in either California or Hawaii. Thirty-seven U.S. jurisdictions have hosted these non-U.S. regulators, including: Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Texas, Vermont, Virginia and West Virginia. We look forward to additional jurisdictions joining this growing list.

View Hi Res Image